• Home
  • CCFS Exam Content & Scores

CCFS Exam Content & Scores

The CCFS exam consists of:

  • 135 multiple-choice questions; 120 are scored and 15 are unscored pilot questions (pilot questions are not called out)
  • Candidates have two hours and 30 minutes to complete the exam

Review the exam outline of the seven different content areas the examination covers and the percentages allotted to each of those areas.

CCFS Exam Content

CCFS Exam Scores

The CCFS exam reports scores ranging from 0-900 with a scaled passing score of 650.

  • Scores are based on the number of questions answered correctly.
  • Exam results are mailed to the candidate within four to six weeks after the exam.
  • Those who pass the exam will receive a certificate, wallet card, and continuing education information.
  • Those who fail the exam will receive a score letter and a retake application. Candidates must wait at least 90 days from the initial test date before retaking the exam.
    • To retake the exam, submit the Retake Application and pay the Exam Fee and Computer Test Fee, if taking the exam at a Pearson VUE's testing location.
    • The application and transcripts do not need to be submitted again.
    • The exam can be taken as many times as needed but candidates must wait at least 90 days before retaking the exam.

About Exam Scores

  • The raw passing score is mathematically transformed so that the passing scaled score equals 650. The scaling process is similar to the adjustment for Celsius and Fahrenheit temperature scales. While the values may differ, the temperatures are the same (e.g., water boils at the same temperature regardless of the scale used).
  • A scaled score is not a percentage score but a transformation of a raw score. Scaling is done to report comparable results when forms and raw passing scores vary over time.

Study References

  1. Certified in Comprehensive Food Safety (CCFS) 2014 Manual
  2. APHA Control of Communicable Diseases Manual | Webpage
  3. GFSI Standards: Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 110 (21 CFR 110) | Webpage
  4. GFSI Guidance Document Sixth Edition Issue 3 Version 6.2 | Webpage
  5. FDA National Shellfish Sanitation Program Guide | Webpage
  6. FDA 2009 Model Food Code | PDF
  7. FDA Bad Bug Book 2nd Edition | Webpage | PDF
  8. FDA CARVER + Shock Vulnerability Assessment | Webpage | PDF
  9. FDA FSMA Mitigation Strategies to Protect Food Against Intentional Adulteration | Webpage
  10. FDA FSMA Preventive Controls | Webpage

Learn More