• Home
  • 2023 Award and Scholarship Winners Recognized

2023 Award and Scholarship Winners Recognized

We were proud to bestow several national awards and scholarships that represent outstanding individuals, programs, and groups throughout the country in 2023. From leaders working on diversity efforts to some of the most recognized names in our professional community, this year’s recipients illustrate the dedication and selflessness of the professionals in our field. The recipients of these awards and scholarships were honored this summer at the 2023 AEC & Exhibition in New Orleans, Louisiana.

A full listing of all 2023 award winners is available.

Congratulations to all 2023 winners!

Dr. Bailus Walker, Jr. Diversity and Inclusion Awareness Award

We give this award annually to recognize an individual or group who has made significant achievements in developing or enhancing a more culturally diverse, inclusive, and competent environment in their organizations and communities.

  • Oreta M. Samples, MPH, DHSc

Joe Beck Educational Contribution Award

We give this award annually to recognize an individual or team for an educational contribution designed for the advancement and professional development of environmental health professionals.

  • Daniel B. Oerther, PhD, CEHS, DLAAS, FCIEH

NEHA Past Presidents Award

Each year, our Past Presidents Affiliate identifies and honors a hero or group of heroes from the environmental health profession.

  • Eric Bradley
  • Kristen Ruby-Cisneros
  • COL Wendell A. Moore

Walter F. Snyder Environmental Health Award

The Snyder Award was created in 1971 in honor of Walter F. Snyder, cofounder and first executive director of NSF. We annually present this award in partnership NSF to recognize individuals who continue Snyder’s legacy through outstanding contributions to environmental public health. Read the full press release from NSF to learn more about this year’s winner.

  • Edward V. Ohanian, PhD

Walter S. Mangold Award

Walter S. Mangold dedicated his life to the practice of environmental health in an extraordinary and exemplary way. In doing so, he became a beacon of excellence and inspiration for all environmental health professionals who followed after him. Created and first awarded to Mangold in 1956, the Walter S. Mangold Award recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to the advancement of environmental health professionals. It is the highest distinction that we can grant one of our members. Read the full press release to learn more about this year’s winner.

  • Brian Collins, MS, REHS, DLAAS

Learn more and consider submitting yourself or a colleague for the upcoming 2024 awards.